Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shipping a restricted

I didn't know where to put this but since very knowledgeable members also pick through here I thought why not.

I never sold a restricted (online) . How would someone go about shipping the firearm? I'm in QC, what if someone from BC wants it, do I add shipping costs to the price, what carrier to use, (some give more problems than others) Gun box has to be locked, do I mail the new owner the keys? Stupid I know but like I said, I'm new at this and I have one to sell and I don't want to limit myself to local sale.

Thanks for any advice
    I'll do what I have to do and deal with the consequences of my actions later

The Gunsmithing Moderator blacksmithden's Avatar
    I live among the creatures of the night (Edmonton)
    The best way to go is to include shipping. If you don't, you're going to get 10 tire kickers asking you how much to ship to xyz. Put down that you'll offer a discount (price of shipping) for a local sale. GET THE MONEY BEFORE CALLING IN AND STARTING A TRANSFER !!!)

Put a trigger lock on it. Put it in a box or case that fairly sturdy (read: can't be broken open easily). Don't put any markings on the outside of it that indicate there's a gun inside (brown paper wrapper type stuff). Ship via Canada Post, registered/signature required.