PDA

View Full Version : cleaning black powder irons?

BrotherRockeye
10-28-2013, 10:45 AM
I just started shooting BP in a BPCR after running smokeless in them for years.
My buddy just picked up his first muzzle loader.
Would like some advice on proper methods of cleaning from those with experience.

So far I just run a mop through to remove the "soot" then a brass brush to get the grooves and an oiled patch.
I'm just cleaning the barrel and so far this method has sufficed.
My buddy has a break action with a removable breach plug and is itching to test run it but doesn't know how to properly clean it and I was no help.

I thought that a cleaning thread would be a good addition so let's hear what you folks do.
A very smart fella said " Ballistol" but I can't find any in Sask.

Let er rip gents and thanks.

Satain
10-28-2013, 11:22 AM
I use brake cleaner then slap a wet oil patch down and around were ever I doused it with the brake clean. Simple, quick and very effective. Now for the more smaller piece (ie a bolt) I drop it into Slip2000. Then shake rattle and roll it out dry then wet it back up with lube. Although now Hornady has that big sonic tub, I might be changing my cleaning techniques.

Dmay
10-28-2013, 01:38 PM
OP - You come on to a public forum and admit to using smokeless powder in a BPCR? Sinner!.....there's a special hell just for guys like you!;D

I just use Windex, the one with vinegar in it is best, on patches, followed by an oil for protection. Should there be any leading, then I use Fluid-Film and a bronze brush to scrub it loose.

BrotherRockeye
10-28-2013, 01:49 PM
thanks gents.
I done a helluva lot worse things in my life than running smokeless in place of BP...an like my old uncle told me when he saw my Remington New Model Army... "you know smokeless powder isn't just a passing fad!"

That said, I'm growing fond of the smoke an ashes of it all.

BrotherRockeye
10-31-2013, 03:38 PM
that's it..?

2 fellas clean their BP irons...

Edenchef