PDA

View Full Version : Type 97 with FTU Optics Recommendation?

HarblWarbl
11-19-2013, 11:30 AM
Hey guys,

I've heard the T97 is pretty accurate for what it is and I've been able to get some decent groups with just the irons but I'm thinking of investing in the Flat Top Upper and getting a quality/decent optic.

Now I don't have much experience with optics and I'm wondering what you guys would suggest.
Budget is around $300-500 I suppose.

I'd like to be able to reach out to 300 yards with some quality reloaded ammo and possibly even further someday if the rifle allows it.

What do you think?

Thanks guys

Strewth
11-19-2013, 11:53 AM
Welcome to GOC!
I have no experience with the rifle, but what is your purpose intended with the platform at that distance? Handloads and smallish groups? Man sized target? For the former I'd suggest a fixed power scope (10x Bushnell with rings slides in your budget easily), for the latter I'd be tempted towards a low power variable; Bushnell (again, sorry, off the top of my head here:) there's many other reputable brands, of course)1x4 on a PEPR mount, maybe?

Mikthaniel
11-19-2013, 11:53 AM
What kind of aesthetics are you hoping to stick to?

Standard scopes, short scopes, ACOG style etc.

Mikthaniel
11-19-2013, 11:55 AM
Welcome to GOC!
I have no experience with the rifle, but what is your purpose intended with the platform at that distance? Handloads and smallish groups? Man sized target? For the former I'd suggest a fixed power scope (10x Bushnell with rings slides in your budget easily), for the latter I'd be tempted towards a low power variable; Bushnell (again, sorry, off the top of my head here:) there's many other reputable brands, of course)1x4 on a PEPR mount, maybe?

I have had nothing but good experience with all 5 of my Bushnells... Expectations paired with price point obviously...

HarblWarbl
11-19-2013, 05:59 PM
Thanks for the info guys.
Yeah, paper punching and maybe coyote hunting someday are the desired purposes.