PDA

View Full Version : UPDATE, new BAR all over the place.

Petamocto
03-14-2014, 05:27 PM
Hi everyone,

I would appreciate any experience with people who know what they are doing setting up a rifle, please. I have a lot of experience with military firearms, but I am the first to admit that I am a total rookie when it comes to buying new stuff and building my own system.

Last fall I bought a brand new Browning BAR in 30.06, and paired it with a new Leupold VX3, with Leupold rings. I did what I could to put it together, and used my friend's laser bore sighter to get it as close to true as I could. I then brought it to the range last fall, and it was all over the place, even from only 100. The rounds were scattered, and I couldn't even get a grouping to guide it on target.

I thought that it may be an issue with eye relief, so I pushed it an inch forward over the winter, lasered it again, and took it out again today. Same thing, completely all over the place, and I wasted about $100 in ammo chasing holes all over the place (if it was even on paper at all). Photo below shows it pushed forward; I found it necessary to lean into it for the 30.06, so any farther back and you can't lean into it.

At the end of the day I even set it up on a bench rest, and it was no better. Rounds all over the place.

I know it's not me, I have an out-of-the-box Mossberg MVP that I get super tight groups on, and I've never had this kind of problem shooting before in the military (always score "marksman"). The MVP came pre-assembled, though. I am not trying to claim that I'm an amazing shot, I'm not at all, I just know that I am not the limiting factor here.

I would even be happy just to get an "okay" grouping out of this set-up, but this now has me incredibly frustrated. I'm in for over $2,000 so far, and I have no idea what is going wrong. I don't need minute of angle, but we're talking 4 rounds that aren't even in the same square foot from 100, on a bipod or on a bench.