PDA

View Full Version : new to shooting and I have a few questions

jon1985
04-28-2012, 08:10 PM
Hello all,

I am very new to shooting and looking into getting my PAL. I have spoken with a few different people and seem to get different information from everyone. Some people say I can just study the material and write the test, others say I need to take the course then write the test. Which is correct?

Next question, I got into shooting when I was outwest for a week visiting some family. I was told I can shoot non restricted firearms on private property (with permission) and crown land as long as the property is outside of town limits. However back in ontario I have been talking to a few people, some say this is true, others say you can only shooot on crown land if you have a hunting permit for whatever might be in season at the time so that if the authorities find you shooting they cant accuse you of hunting without a license. Is any part of this true?

Next questions, I obviously dont have ant fire arms right now. I shot a few different guns when I was out, 9mm hand guns, .22 riffles, .223 riffles, 12g and 20g shot guns. I found that I could hit or miss a target the same with the more expensive ammunition as the cheap .22 $20/500rnd ammunition. The main difference I noticed was the affect of wind on the shot. I really enjoyed shooting the 223 but a riffle and ammunition is considerably more expensive then a 22 rifle and ammunition. Im sure I can get proficient with a cheaper rifle with cheaper ammo before moving up to a higher caliber. That said, if I can buy a decenr 223 rifle and find cheaper ammunition then I would be more then happy to start with a 223. So, can any one make a recommendation for a first rifle, of either caliber? Keep in mind I will need to buy a decent scope and bi-pod at the same time as the rifle.