PDA

View Full Version : Back into Fishing

awndray
07-13-2014, 05:35 PM
I'm not a complete newb, but it's been about 15 years since I've done some real fishing. Even then, I didn't really know what I was doing. So, how about a primer from some of the experience fishermen/women? My main interest right now is trout, walleye and catfish. Though I know of a few nice areas for carp pike and bass, the area I usually go canoe-camping is mostly trout and walleye territory. Catfish...well, that's pretty simple. I don't really need much guidance on that front, although a refresher on how to clean one would be nice.

YouTube is great for some things, but there is a lot of junk out there. I'm looking at re-kitting up. I know what I need to know about rods, reels and line. What should I know about leaders? What are some of the absolute must-have lures and bait? Thanks a bunch!

superbrad
07-14-2014, 09:00 AM
What are you up to this weekend?.... was thinking of heading up to sail and picking up a new rifle.... I could scrape you up along the way....

Basics:

-Soft side tackle bag with plano trays
-Open face spinning reel with medium light rod (I like Quantum personally and Berkeley rods)
-Hook holder
-Stringer
-Selection of wire leaders
-Hooks
-Spinnerbaits
-Buzz baits
-jig heads
-Assorted plastic worms / grubs / minnows
-Spinners (trout)
-Rapalas (floating, sinking, countdown)
-Assorted spoons for pike (Williams Wobblers, lucky strike etc.)
-5 of diamonds is a must have
-Fishing Knife
-Fillet knife

Catfish are a breeze to fillet... cut in and down behind the front fins and then slide your knife back towards the tail and stop before your knife comes out at the tail.... Flip the fillet over and cut the meat from the skin...

awndray
07-14-2014, 09:34 AM