PDA

View Full Version : The: I am a mega newb to archery thread

hillbillyr
05-22-2012, 08:04 PM
Let's start this with full disclosure

I don't know anything about archery. My father has a old weak recurve bow that I have shot twice. The last time I shot it I found it to be more of a novelty than anything else. Sure you could kill something at 30 yards if everything went perfect and the target was very large.

I was measuring a counter reno the other day and the woman I am working for asked if I wanted a bow. Sure I said, I have always been curious. So I now have a Bear , Polar LTD 6 pulley bow circa late 70's. A good place to start IMHO.

I got the bow home with a bunch of arrows with fletchings in various states of decay and NO arrow rest. Being I have more curiosity than brains I had to shoot the bow and used my finger as a rest with one of the arrows the fletching "appeared" to be good. I did end up with a large portion of1980' brittle plastic flething embedded deep in my finger. No worries though, I was aiming at a 4'x4' plastic target 100 yards away, without knowing how to aim, I came very close to my POA with the target arrow burried 8" in the ground.

I was very impressed with the bow, the pain of removing old fletching, I deserved.

Two evenings latter I met up with a friend to show him my new found bow and try his. His bow was torqued at or past 80# and is a single cam bow with what he thinks has 60% let off. For a newb with no technique it was a good pull and I am not a weak man.

His bow was setup with a peep sight and a trigger. I was within 3 inches at 20 yards for 4 shots but 2 of them, the last one specifically were painful

http://i749.photobucket.com/albums/xx137/hillmanr2/IMG_2377.jpg

After some reaserch as was stated in the OT thread it seems a kisser button and peep sight is the way I will go.

I hope very much BRI and others can explain in the proper detail;

Peep sights
Kisser button
Trigger
arrow pinch