PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a range membership?

Canuck 4393
02-21-2015, 11:01 AM
Hi all sorry if this is a dumb question but hey I'm a newb, So I'm wondering if I need to have a range membership to buy a pistol? I'm on three different waiting lists one that I guy I work with has been on for like two and a half years!! The other only has intake in November. So I'm wanting to have a pistol when I'm able to go use it not wait another x amount of time. Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

awndray
02-21-2015, 11:41 AM
Short legal answer: no, you don't. Complex CFO answer: yes, you do.

Enjoy these frustrating reads:

http://www.gunownersofcanada.ca/showthread.php?19087-Buying-First-Handgun-no-ATT-yet
http://www.gunownersofcanada.ca/showthread.php?14909-Alberta-Specific-Laws
http://www.gunownersofcanada.ca/showthread.php?20531-ATT-Question

Canuck 4393
02-21-2015, 11:49 AM
Hey man thanks, good thing I have nothing else to do this afternoon I'll bet there is a lot of reading there

blacksmithden
02-21-2015, 12:07 PM
The best thing to do is call up the CFO's office and ask. They change their own internal policies (aka- make up the law as they go along) with no notice to anyone. Tell them that you're going to be getting one, but there's a wait list...whatever. Can I still buy one now while I'm waiting to get into xyz-club ?

Canuck 4393
02-21-2015, 02:21 PM
That's probably the best way to go, no guessing

Drache
02-21-2015, 02:22 PM
What province are you in? That is the easiest way to tell

Waynetheman
02-21-2015, 06:22 PM
In Bc you can just join silvercore while you wait. It's not a range but it IS a "club"

Hornychief
02-21-2015, 10:04 PM