PDA

View Full Version : Wool Pants

awndray
08-12-2015, 08:22 AM
What do you wear when you're out in the bush, mid-fall to winter? Which brands should I look for, and which should I avoid? I need something warm, quiet and water repellent for whitetail dogging.

Kenwp
08-13-2015, 05:06 AM
Used to be able to get these war surplus wool pants that we used to buy that you could get soaking wet and were still warm that were wool. I now wear lined blue jeans instead. They are super warm and still stay warm when wet. The Work Wear House ones are good and Costco used to have them also. I have a pair of Wranglers in camo that are good also. I wear them all winter now to go to work and back since I only drive 8kms and the truck never gets real warm and I change into lighter cloths at work due to bio security anyways.

kennymo
08-13-2015, 07:31 AM
I've been wearing a pair of UnderArmour hunting pants for a few years now, paired with wool long johns. I have to switch into a pair of bib overalls if I'm sitting in the evening though. But the UA's are breathable, cut the wind, are water resistant and plenty warm for walking. We tried wool pants some years back, and while warm, we found they did not like crossing barbed wire fences which we have to do fairly often hiking after deer.

Foxer
08-13-2015, 10:13 AM
I wear thick wool pants - but avoid "pure' wool, a little bit of blend takes away the itch :) Wool has the property of retaining heat when it's wet and not wicking moisture up. So it's important for staying warm. But - the most important thing to me is that it "sounds" like fur when you walk. We used some 'action ears' set very sensitive for a series of tests to try to determine what deer hear when you're walking thru the woods in different clothes, and wool makes a noise much like any other animal, while jeans for example make a distinctly 'human' sort of synthetic sound. A sort of 'wiff wiff wiff' when you walk that definitely says 'not an animal'.