PDA

View Full Version : The "First Gun" question.

Baker
06-26-2012, 09:44 AM
Okay so, most of you know that I'm (finally) getting my PAL (had them do the phone interview thingy this morning). I've been around firearms all my life, and I'm by no means a novice.

But, should my first gun by the standard .22 rifle (insert your idea of your favorite .22 here), or step it up a notch or two. Personally, one of my key rifles to acquire is a Norc M305, get a bipod and a good quality scope (might just keep it naked, and just buy another to set up as more long range plinker, either way..).

Or, should I still go with, say, a ruger 10-22 as my first rifle, since the ammo is so damn cheap. That way I can practice a lot more, not really spend much on the way of fancy accessories, and just have a lot of fun, much more often.

Ideas gents?

jwirecom109
06-26-2012, 10:00 AM
Canada Ammo has the M305 short and reg length models with 520 rounds for 600 bucks, thats a steal of a deal.

I have 2 ruger 10/22 they are great, so its a good way to go aswell.

If you asked which i like to shoot more?

my M305 forsure

Prairie Dog
06-26-2012, 10:58 AM
Guns are like potato chips, you'll never have just one. Add to that no collection is complete without a 10/22 and I have owned several, my most recent being an SR22.

If I was starting out all over again, knowing what I know now, I would start with a good bolt action .22. A personal preference is the CZ 452 or 455. Some models come with interchangeable barrels, .22lr, .17hmr and .22 magnum. I'll admit I have a penchant for rim fire, it serves 99% of my needs and for pennies a day you can shoot to your heart's content. ....but that's just my opinion.....

Baker
06-26-2012, 11:03 AM
Is there much of a difference between the short and full length M305 (any wise ass jokes about the length/weight are unacceptable lol)? Also, I know that it might not be necessary, but what parts would be good to upgrade to the USGI spec stuff.