PDA

View Full Version : Garmin 62S



soopercooper
11-24-2015, 11:57 AM
Any guru's out there know how to set one of these up so as that maps are useable, or does a fellow have to jump up a model or 3 to get any clarity?

SIR VEYOR
11-24-2015, 12:06 PM
I believe they autoload if you have to right format. Look on the Garmin website for the manual and formats. I've used different C models and am travelling right now so that's all I can do for you.

awndray
11-24-2015, 12:13 PM
I use Ibycus on my 62s.

http://www.gunownersofcanada.ca/showthread.php?18527-Handheld-GPS&p=196673#post196673

Not everybody finds it easy to work with, but I thought it was pretty simple after watching this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xPVeyw0MyaE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYQnEzN0byU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fteSaimLCNg

Some people like the TOPO maps.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-CA/CA/maps/on-the-trail-maps/topo/c452-c456-c601-p1.html

My buddies all use the Backroads Maps.

http://www.backroadmapbooks.com/gps-maps/

As for clarity, do you mean the level of detail or the quality of the screen?

soopercooper
11-25-2015, 01:05 PM
PLEASE
Let me make this clear AGAIN
Garmin's rooked me for over 6 by the time I had the unit and the "Already out dated" map source cd. ENUFF

PS and ibycus is crapped out

awndray
11-25-2015, 01:46 PM
Let me be clear. You wanted help. I provided some. It works.

PS. I just came back from 10 days in the bush, using Ibycus on my Garmin 62s.

If you hate Garmin that much, why ask for help using your Garmin? You should have asked for suggestions of other brands.

Good luck with your search.