PDA

View Full Version : Tang vs Receiver Peep

lone-wolf
12-09-2015, 03:43 PM
I'm thinking this year, I will change the sights on my 9422m to either a rear peep, probably skinner or a tang mounted one - like marbles.
I know from experience, I like the receiver mounted peep sights.
I have never used a tang sight before, but they look like they bleed coolness, especially in a lever action.
Are they just as quick and easy to use as their receiver mounted cousins?

Edenchef
12-09-2015, 04:07 PM
IMHO, Tang mounts are easier/faster to adjust and more accurate because of the increased sight radius. And yes, way cooler on a period style gun, serious "Quigley" factor.

http://i1320.photobucket.com/albums/u539/Edenchef/Buffy001_zpsd53f9189.jpg (http://s1320.photobucket.com/user/Edenchef/media/Buffy001_zpsd53f9189.jpg.html)

Rory McCanuck
12-09-2015, 04:30 PM
Tang sights look cooler, and might get you an extra 3"(?) of sight radius, but they are a pokey-up bit right where your thumb goes. On something like Edenchef's oh-so-pretty Quigley single shot maybe it isn't such a big deal?
I know I've handled a couple of '94s with tang sights, and they weren't cumbersome or really even awkward, but it was 'different'. Maybe with some time with it, I'd get used to it, but I haven't had accasion to.
They also look right at home on a Savage 99.

lone-wolf
12-09-2015, 04:33 PM
but they are a pokey-up bit right where your thumb goes.

That's pretty much why I ask. I can't handle one, so I don't know if that's going to be annoying or not.

Edenchef
12-09-2015, 04:33 PM
Tang sights look cooler, and might get you an extra 3"(?) of sight radius, but they are a pokey-up bit right where your thumb goes. On something like Edenchef's oh-so-pretty Quigley single shot maybe it isn't such a big deal?

I don't find that it gets in the way of my thumb at all, with my grip it sits right in front of it.