PDA

View Full Version : Do you shoot in Meters or Yards?



50calshooter
07-11-2012, 05:58 PM
So, meters or yards? MRAD or MOA?

What's your orientation when shooting?

lone-wolf
07-11-2012, 06:03 PM
strides.

Abashai
07-11-2012, 06:15 PM
strides.

haha yep.
I might have to think about getting a rangefinder when I start shooting past 100 though

lone-wolf
07-11-2012, 06:36 PM
Yea, a rangefinder would be nice. I'm pretty bad at judging distance.

Prairie Dog
07-11-2012, 07:02 PM
So, meters or yards? MRAD or MOA?

What's your orientation when shooting?

I still haven't figured out MOA and you throw out MRAD? :)

As for orientation... I prefer straight. :) (make your own joke)


Posted through Tapatalk

RobSmith
07-11-2012, 07:06 PM
I don't shoot at any kind of distance where it would make a difference while staying at "minute of backstop".

jwirecom109
07-11-2012, 07:10 PM
Depending on the rifle.

My AR is a MRAD scope
the rest are MOA scopes

blacksmithden
07-11-2012, 07:36 PM
I shoot 25, 50, 100, 200, 300 of something. :) I think it's measured in meters, but I usually say yards. I think you'll find a direct correlation between people saying yards vs meters, and age. When I was in school, the metric system was just starting to creep into the school system. I learned both systems, but everybody around me like my parents, grand parents, aunts, uncles and such spoke in Imperial, so that's what stuck with me. Oh...and it has to be said.....$#%T#$%i you Trudeau ! LOL !

jrcbecher
07-11-2012, 08:10 PM
Old school Yards and MOA still work for me and have intension's to change besides locals here talk yards in the field but some ranges are metric but to Me it don't matter.

50calshooter
07-11-2012, 08:41 PM
Does our Canadian military use meters then?

I know the yanks all use yards in their ranges, I had my range setup in meters but I think I'm going to switch it to yards...

FlyingHigh
07-11-2012, 09:35 PM
yards and MOA for me, though i'm teaching myself MRAD.

52TulaSKS
07-11-2012, 09:57 PM
I shoot in a crude mixture of both.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-nAjB-Qpfby4/T2xeZvphtGI/AAAAAAAAB7s/yz50A7nSn1A/s1600/close+enough+meme.png


Does our Canadian military use meters then?

I know the yanks all use yards in their ranges, I had my range setup in meters but I think I'm going to switch it to yards...

Yeah the military uses metres, but I know at least at CFB Kingston the range is actually in yards, since they never bothered to change anything around when they changed from yards to metres. It's referred to as the "600 metre range" though.

BuckingFastard
07-11-2012, 10:46 PM
Grew up using yards and still do.

normmus
07-12-2012, 01:43 AM
[QUOTE=50calshooter;25374]Does our Canadian military use meters then?[QUOTE]

Yes

hillbillyr
07-12-2012, 02:02 AM
If I miss all the time does it matter ?

Skeetgunner
07-12-2012, 06:24 AM
Either. Depends what scopes on the gun.

BruceW
07-12-2012, 07:49 AM
Meters? What's that, is that sort of like that hectare's thing that no one but the gov't will ever use since land is divided, bought/sold and farmed in acres? This entire country was surveyed and roads layed out in square miles. The roads aren't moving.

Now hand me that 9/16" wrench, and get out the calculator, figure out how many litres of oil we'll need to put 12 qts into this thing............thanks trudeau. :smash:

Ar180shooter
07-12-2012, 09:11 AM
^^^

About 11.3L (approx .94L in 1qt).

My local range is in yards (fixed shooting positions), so I don't really have a choice in the matter.

If you're deciding on how long to make your range, do it in meters. That way, if you wish to have the distances marked in yards, you can, but you can later have it changed over to meters if you wish, as 25m = ~27yds.

Also, if you're using targets on tracks that allow you to move the target to different distances from the shooting line, there's no reason why you can't have both m and yds marked, so people can shoot at either one, based on their preference.

Abashai
07-12-2012, 11:09 AM
The reason a lot of people shoot in MOA is because the vast majority of scopes are MOA. Just my .02 but setting up an indoor range I would probably keep meters, just because the ranges are short and the difference is close to negligible. Besides I think a lot of the handgun competitions are in meters. Also a minor thing but from a marketing perspective advertising meters makes you seem updated. Most people probably don't care.

OneShotJohn
07-12-2012, 12:14 PM
Yards and MOA. Call me old fashioned ;)

joe-nwt
07-12-2012, 12:31 PM
Same as BSden.(Hey, that came out kinda funny.......) I say yards but our range is set up in meters.

road kill
07-12-2012, 02:19 PM
My sentiments also, i just don`t say thanks trudeau i prefere to call a spade a spade and a a**hole and a**hole. Fudel Dudel on his grave.

50calshooter
07-12-2012, 03:06 PM
I'm just going to run yards like like almost every range out there. The extra room can be used for other things. I don't think most will even notice a difference.

lone-wolf
07-12-2012, 03:09 PM
Even golf courses use yards.

50calshooter
07-12-2012, 03:11 PM
Even golf courses use yards.

Same with football, both NFL and CFL... lol

jrcbecher
07-12-2012, 03:27 PM
So, meters or yards? MRAD or MOA?

What's your orientation when shooting?
Hi 50 Cal build your range metric you can shoot imperial or yards on a metric range but it might be to short for some metric shoots if your range is in yards there is only 3 inches a yard difference so build your tracks metric and the yard shooters can stop at the proper yard line.This way you will not miss out on Olympic shooting or any revenue for metric shoots but can still cater to us old shooters and are yard lines best of luck by the way think its great .

50calshooter
07-12-2012, 04:25 PM
Hi 50 Cal build your range metric you can shoot imperial or yards on a metric range but it might be to short for some metric shoots if your range is in yards there is only 3 inches a yard difference so build your tracks metric and the yard shooters can stop at the proper yard line.This way you will not miss out on Olympic shooting or any revenue for metric shoots but can still cater to us old shooters and are yard lines best of luck by the way think its great .

If I was doing an outdoor range then ya I'd prolly run it that way. I need all the room I can get to build in the features I want so yards will have to be the setting. I wasn't able to find any indoor ranges in Canada or North America for that matter, that was set in meters, so for this situation I'm going to follow suit.

I will still have the biggest and most advanced indoor 50YD range in Canada, so at least I'll lead in other aspects...


RDSC's Ranges;

Alpha Range 25


6 Shooting Positions

Mancom Touch n’ Go Lighted Target Retrieval Systems

Overhead AR500 Safety Ceiling on Firing Line

Standard AR500 Overhead Baffle System

In-Range Acoustical Sound Dampening Technology

Zero Ricochet Rubber Berm Backstop

High Performance Ventilation & Air Flow

Custom Shooting Stalls with Ballistics Protection,
Training Barricades and Digital LED Displays



Bravo Range 50


6 Shooting Positions

Mancom Touch Plus Lighted Target Retrieval Systems

Overhead AR500 Safety Ceiling on Firing Line

Total Confinement AR500 Tactical Baffled Ceiling

In-Range Acoustical Sound Dampening Technology

Zero Ricochet Rubber Berm Backstop

High Performance Ventilation & Air Flow

Custom Shooting Stalls with Ballistics Protection,
Training Barricades and Digital LED Displays

JustBen
07-12-2012, 04:51 PM
I measure distance with furlongs and fathoms. Group sizes are related to currency (dime, nickel, quarter, loonie, etc).

But seriously, I can use both metres and yards. I prefer to shoot in yards/MOA because it seems to be the accepted standard. Meters/MRAD makes more sense, though.

lone-wolf
07-12-2012, 06:13 PM
My father says fathoms when he's measuring rope

Easy to find out how much was lost if you get rope cut off while fishing.

biopace
07-13-2012, 02:57 PM
For how accurate i am there is no difference between Yards and Metres.

Stephen
07-14-2012, 03:37 PM
I only know yards.

BrotherRockeye
07-14-2012, 05:26 PM
I fall into the same class of "caught in the middle" as blacksmithden...yards here...have my car set to MPH and MPG too!
I think C for temp though...

so ya...the rangefinder says YDS...

Haywire1
07-14-2012, 06:24 PM
yards

Jim
07-15-2012, 05:15 PM
I keep it the old way in yards.

Onagoth
07-17-2012, 08:40 AM
Our ranges are all measured in meters. Throws me off for some of the ballistic calculators which are usually yards.

2tall
07-29-2012, 12:58 PM
I measure distance with furlongs and fathoms. Group sizes are related to currency (dime, nickel, quarter, loonie, etc).

But seriously, I can use both metres and yards. I prefer to shoot in yards/MOA because it seems to be the accepted standard. Meters/MRAD makes more sense, though.

Good, that covers almost every measurement including imperial, metric, and 'merican, since dime, nickle and quarter are 'merican terms. We have 10 cent, 5 cent and 25 cent pieces. ;) Since I rarely shoot at a range, like a previous poster, my measuring is done in strides too. I think in inches/feet/yards though, so I'll vote that way.

agilent_one
07-29-2012, 02:44 PM
Usually meters and MRAD. However, when somebody asks me a question about distance - I usually answer in yards.

I don't want anybody to think I'm metric.

Satain
07-29-2012, 03:22 PM
What happens if you were trained in yards but now use meter's but only use scope's in moa???

Ixian
07-29-2012, 04:51 PM
Doesn't MOA work in metric also? It has nothing to do with either really. Unless I'm mistaking.

Anyway, I'm a metric boy. Decimal over fractions anyday. Much more simple (I've got 10 fingers).

Katana
07-29-2012, 06:17 PM
Yup, ditto for me...


I fall into the same class of "caught in the middle" as blacksmithden...yards here...have my car set to MPH and MPG too!
I think C for temp though...

so ya...the rangefinder says YDS...

Ballsofice
07-29-2012, 07:09 PM
Depends on which range I'm shooting at I usually end up using a mix of both

Brokenplay
07-30-2012, 11:42 PM
meters for me

pubb
07-31-2012, 01:45 PM
The difference is negligible except for long range precision shooters.

I suppose depending on your layout, you could probably have intermediate berms at different distances...

P

M.T. Chambers
08-01-2012, 09:59 PM
My guns don't shoot as well in metric.

pubb
08-02-2012, 09:14 AM
I just looked at a .308 ballistics chart - 300 yard zero, sights 1.5" above bore:

300 yard = 328 meters = -2.5"

P

MohawkSatan
08-07-2012, 11:52 AM
My bullets aren't measured in fractions. Neither are my ranges. Meters all the way, though that might have something to do with being 21, and growing up with metric.

Drache
08-07-2012, 12:09 PM
Im imperial all the way. Silly rebels
http://d.asset.soup.io/asset/1917/9149_7f29.jpeg

Ive yet to visit a range where it isnt yards

dweenz
08-07-2012, 08:29 PM
for some reason yards are easier for me to estimate than meters.. but i prefer metric for calculations.