PDA

View Full Version : Aspiring Winnipeg machinists and train lovers

kennymo
04-15-2016, 09:35 AM
I just stumbled onto a new hobby place opening up in the city called Trains N' Treasures in the old Safeway building off Ness and Sturgeon. There's a ride in train for the kids, train hobby and antique store, and more importantly, they're opening a machine and woodworking shop in the back that you can use for a monthly membership fee. Also, they're offering some machinist training courses on a hobby level. $40 a month to join.

I spoke with the entrepreneur, a machinist by trade, he's retired and is trying to make a go of all his hobbies for a living. Seems like it'll be something to keep an eye on, it's pretty 'in the works' right now, lots of plywood decor.... But if it takes off he's putting in a 50's cafe and a place for the kids to play while you do hobby stuff. We'll see how it does I suppose, but it's right in my neighbourhood. Told him I'd definitely be interested in some basic machinist training when they open that up....

FALover
04-15-2016, 09:50 AM
It has possibilities. Maybe instead of keeping kids preoccupied there could be lessons for them as well. The world needs more tradespersons and any chance of finding a gifted kid with a knack for hands on work should be looked at closely.

Rory McCanuck
04-15-2016, 10:03 AM
Was quite sad to see that Safeway go, as I could run across the back lane from the Ma-in-Law's house to grab mushrooms to go with supper.
Now it's drive all the way to Cavalier and Portage, and without the bridge... :mad:

I saw the name painted on the glass and didn't really think too much about it.
I think I'll have to make a point to stop in!

kennymo
04-15-2016, 10:10 AM
Was quite sad to see that Safeway go, as I could run across the back lane from the Ma-in-Law's house to grab mushrooms to go with supper.
Now it's drive all the way to Cavalier and Portage, and without the bridge... :mad: