PDA

View Full Version : CZ 550 FS 9.3x62mm - any reason not to?

rallygreen
07-08-2016, 06:20 PM
Hi everyone, I'm just getting into big game hunting and am hoping to limit my overall number of rifles... I used a Remington 514 and (much less often) an old 12ga as a kid and had the hankering to go plinking again with a buddy, so picked up a CZ 455 lux. I've really enjoyed it, so want to get another CZ and found that I could have a 550 fs in 9.3x62mm imported. From what I've read, it seems like a nice generalist sort of rifle.

Are there any reasons not to go with it? None of my friends are much into firearms, so I pretty well just have what I read to go on. I know ammo availability will be more limited, but I don't imagine doing nearly as much shooting with it as I do with the 455. The full stock is purely for fun - thought it would be nice to have something different for a different purpose. Appreciate any input!

Petamocto
07-08-2016, 06:25 PM
By modern standards it's pretty slow of a round at 2,400 fps, even if it is for a larger round approaching 300 gr.

Does it offer a anything a more common round like 30-06 or 300 Win Mag doesn't offer? Lighter bullets but 3000 fps = same energy on target.

I'm all for rarer stuff that has different ballistics (I love 10mm for example), but if you are looking to limit the amount of rifles you have, I would think it would be better to be something very common.

kennymo
07-08-2016, 06:51 PM
The 9.3x62 is on pretty even ground with the 375 H&H. Ignore the velocity mentioned above, that's pushing 286 grains of fury. The cartridge is well renowned in Africa, and is the only sub-.375 cartridge accepted by many outfitters there. It has literally knocked down every big game animal on the planet and is well liked on moose, deer and large bears by those in the know. Components and ammo are readily available in Canada, the only drawback is you'll be paying large cartridge prices.