PDA

View Full Version : Sighting in a new Rifle

Eel
01-17-2017, 02:13 PM
So I just got my TC Venture 30-06 in the mail today and now have the joy of firing rounds through a brand new gun for the first time. I got the package with the scope already mounted so I don't have to worry about mounting the scope on it, although it will be getting a higher quality scope this summer. This is my first rifle and I was wondering what the best way to sight it in was. I'm thinking that I was going to use 165 grain bullets, but brand and type I am not sure of as I'm completely new to this. Do you fine people have any advice on what types/brands of ammo I should use? Is there a break in procedure that I should follow before/during sighting it in?

kennymo
01-17-2017, 03:22 PM
I'd try a couple different brands and bullet weights just to get an idea of what the gun likes, I usually have pretty fair luck with Federal when I'm not handloading (I refuse to buy boutique ammo! :p). Is the scope factory bore sighted? If not, bolt actions are fairly easy to do, just put the gun in a sturdy rest, remove the bolt and look through the barrel at a target about 100 yards away. Once you're satisfied that it's aligned, adjust the scope crosshairs to match, going back and forth a couple of times until you're certain the bore and scope pictures are pretty damn close. Then I fire a couple shots at 50 yards, make sure it's shooting ballpark dead centre, then back out to 100 and start fine tuning.