PDA

View Full Version : Non-refurb numbers matching 51 Tula.

Zeegler
03-11-2017, 08:00 PM
I went to Canadian Tire today, mainly to grab some 303 British for my Lee Enfield. It's not my local store, so I spent some time looking at their nice assortment of guns and found a really nice 1951 Tula SKS. First thing I noticed after picking it up was that it's blued instead of BBQ painted. It's got very little if any noticeable wear, but the stock has a few bumps and bruises. I pull the dust cover off and check out the bolt, and turns out bolt, carrier, receiver and dust cover and stock all have the same stamped original serial number. There are no refurb markings anywhere on the gun that I can see. Since it was 8% Canadian Tire money day I grabbed it and brought it home. When I got home I spent a few hours cleaning out the cosmoline, and then grabbed my barrel light and had a good look at the bore. I'm no expert, but I swear this thing is unfired. The rifling is pristine. Unbelievable.

Here are my two. The 51 is the top one.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/zeegler/IMG_20170311_200709_zps464oggbm.jpg

I'll get more detailed pics tomorrow.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Dewey Cox
03-11-2017, 08:37 PM
Nice find.
It gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling to know there are still nice ones floating around out there.

kennymo
03-11-2017, 10:09 PM
Have to swing by the local CT one of these days. The ones that carry guns are a bit of a drive. Last one I picked up there was a really nice white letter job.

Zeegler
03-12-2017, 06:47 AM
Maybe I just got really lucky, but this was the second one I looked at. The first was your typical laminated stock, BBQ painted 1954 with forced match serials. Nothing wrong with that, but I wouldn't have needed to buy it. They were also more than willing to let me go out back and sort through their stock of 40 SKSs. That's right, they have 40 in stock!!! Who knows what gems are lurking back there?