Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Am I using my chronograph wrong, or are my bullets going super fast?

I went out shooting today after settling down on a load.. 308 cartridge, 168gr AMAX, 42.5gr Varget. Not necessarily the most accurate load cause I'm pretty new at reloading and long range shooting, but accurate enough to let me actually practice MY part of the equation. I took my pro-chrono out for the first time since it was overcast skies, and put 10 rounds through it, and the results were as follows:

2737, 2715, 2710, 2710, 2704, 2704, 2693, 2715, 2693, 2710.

The average of them all is 2709.1. Not sure why the first one was so much faster than the others, I didn't clean the bore since last session other than a loose fitting dry patch to clear out any dust or debris before shooting. But I didn't shoot it much last time anyways.

My main reason for asking, is my hornady reloading manual says that 44 something grains of varget should get me up to 2600 fps and it stops there because of pressure. So if 42.5 is getting me 2709fps, am I just using the chrono wrong? I don't see any pressure signs on my brass or primers, so I don't think my rifle is going to kerplode.. Is it not so abnormal as I'm making it out to be?

Ambient temperature, elevation above sea level, barrel length all affect speeds.
    in pace, ut sapiens, aptarit idonea bello
    - In peace, like a wise man, he appropriately prepares for war

3. The Following User Liked This Post By Haywire1

Drache (01-06-2016)

http://www.hodgdonreloading.com/
    For additional data
    the wild still lingered in him and the wolf in him merely slept

"It must be poor life that achieves freedom from fear" - Aldo Leopold

Type of case and primer is important-as well as firearm and bullet seating depth, the manual usually describes this- I would be verifying my scale probably more than the chronograph.

Were there any pressure signs?