Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need your experience

Hey all, I don't have much experience with rimfire. Probably shot a few hundred rounds total and have never experienced a failure to fire until today. I was shooting my late grandfather's W.W. Greener martini-henry action target rifle (from 1909) today and experienced my first. Instead of bang it was pop. Due to the age of the rifle (it is very solidly built and extraordinarily accurate) I decided to pack it in and go home so I could inspect the rifle with care and all the time I need. The .22 casing is cracked. The brand is Winchester Wildcat .22 40gr. Cheap stuff. I intend to do a thorough examination of the rifle of course, but in your opinion is this just a bad round?

Spread the word on petition e-2341 (Democratic process). Send people to http://oneclearvoice.ca which takes them directly to the petition.

Banned
    Looks like headspace issue. Too much I would say. I wonder if original bolt or not?

Yup, but I'm no expert.

moved close to the lake.Some call it Gilford.
    Check the barrel for the projectile first. Older converted rifle may have a enlarged chamber? Headspace could be toast. .22 lr rimfire is a forgiving cartridge as pressures are not excessive. I would think the rifle is suspect before the ammo.
    GET OFF MY LAWN!

I'm usually pretty quick to jump on the bash-Winchester bandwagon, but the casehead looks to be rounded.
    If it isn't flat, then there must be excessive headspace, for that ammo at least.
    Do you have any of that ammo unfired left? Measure the rim and compare it to the fired case.
    Don't blame me, I didn't vote for that clown. Oct 20, '15

What do the Breech and bolt face look like?

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
    I don't have a firearms problem; they all work perfectly well.
    Membership: CCFR, SAFGC
    Govít couldnít make sense if you gave them a recipe.

The Gunsmithing Moderator blacksmithden's Avatar
    I live among the creatures of the night (Edmonton)